Highlighted
Collaborator
Registered since

Feb 11, 2017

Re: DO NOT BUY SOUND TOUCH SERIES SPEAKERS - READ WHY BELOW

Again have to say that my experience has not at all been like this. I have 5 speakers over 2 floors of my house, all of which never give me any problems. All are connected via Wifi and I never get dropout. 

I also work in IT, and dont have a complicated network (Virgin Router in Modem only mode and two AirPort Extremes connected via ethernet). I do find it curious that people who say they work in IT and have enterprise grade routers (i.e. Cisco etc...) are you doing any QoS or packet shaping or have any firewalls to block anything and/or using different subnets for the network?? These speakers are designed to work in a simple network - im not a Network Expert (I work on the software not the network) but have a basic grasp of it.

Also what devices do you have? I have 4 x ST 10 (WiFi Only, no Ethernet) and a ST 30 (Does have Ethernet but I dont use it on that due to location). I did have no end of problems when first setting up, before I got the AirPort Extreme's but I know i had problems with the rubbish Virgin Router firmware and signals. 

There are a few annoyances with the App and interface, but overall I have found the sound quality good and reliable. 

Also to answer the alternatives, would it not be Sonos?? That is the most well known Wifi speaker and been out alot longer than SoundTouch. 

Highlighted
Collaborator
Registered since

Feb 11, 2017

Good luck with support. Hopefully they find a solution. Just a FYI, I am also a Virgin Media Customer with the SuperHub 2ac - The WiFi is apalling. When standing next to it I got no more than 70mbps (I pay for 200). I also have Sky Q installed which uses the home network and no end of problems.