Highlighted
nomadsole
Quiet Contributor
  • 0
  • 5
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 6, 2018

It sucks!!

One day the soundtouch app pushed an update and all of sudden the products you purchased all went into reduced function mode. I used to enjoy the soundtouch products. But I have to say, this play all / grouping issue really sucks.

 

First, never release a broken firmware without proper testing

Second, don't tell your customer that a fix has been released but you just can't have it, because the truth is "our engineers are finalizing the update so that we can make sure that everything will be addressed regading this matter"

Last but not least, firmware update is not something special to bose product. Don't act like they are trade secrete.

 

agent: Welcome to Bose Chat. This is xxx. How can I help you today? 
me: Hi xxx
agent: Hi yyy! How can I help you today?
me: Do you know where I can download the latest soundtouch firmware version 19.0.13
me: I have multiple souchtouch speakers
me: I had issues with the grouping / play all function
agent: I see. Are you pertaining about the latest firmware version for the Soundtouch App?
me: https://community.bose.com/t5/SoundTouch-Speakers/SoundTouch-Firmware-19-0-13-Release-On-October-2nd...
me: the link says the update will be pushed in phases
me: However I wonder if I could get the update now if it has been release
me: I have 6 soundtouch devices
agent: Oh, I see. That update will be available via the Soundtouch App. It's been already released.
me: I have been stuck with firmware 19.0.5 for months without a resolution
me: my soundtouch app hasn't promoted me for any update
me: nor the apps on my windows laptop and mac
me: is there any support article link I can download the firmware image so that I can update earlier
agent: I see. I understand. Here's what I can suggest, you can actually contact our SoundTouch Specialist regarding this matter so that they can provide you precise information regarding this issue. you can reach them at this number: xxxxxxxxxx.
agent: They can perform troubleshooting steps and give you information regarding the issue.
me: I don't need troubleshooting!
me: all I need is the latest firmware
me: https://www.bose.com/en_us/support/article/updating-soundtouch-300.html
me: like this one, but with updated link to the latest firmware
me: so that I can get my speakers working properly
agent: I see. We don't have any links that we can provide for the update since the updates can only be downloaded and installed using the Soundtouch App. Regarding your other question, here are the target dates for the updates:

Stage 1: October 2
Targeting active global user accounts.

Stage 2: October 9
Additional global accounts.

Stage 3: October 11
Balance of accounts not already updated.
System firmware files available via SoundTouch support articles on Bose.xx will be updated for download of this version.
 
me: it says "System firmware files available via SoundTouch support articles on Bose.xx will be updated for download of this version."
me: do you have link to the latest support articles?
agent: Let me check if I can find one for you.
me: thanks
agent: I'm sorry for the delay. I'll be right with you.
me: no worries. take your time
agent: Hi yyy! Apologies for the delayed response and upon checking this, we don't have any link yet for the latest support articles. Also the next update will be available on the 9th and on the 11th.
me: so the only option for me is to wait?
agent: For the moment yes since our engineers are finalizing the update so that we can make sure that everything will be addressed regading this matter.
agent: But we assure you that this next updates will take care of this issue and improve the stability and the ease of use of the Soundtouch App.
me: Will I get the update quicker if I call the support hotline?
agent: You can call the support line to get assistance if you would have issues installing the update but for the update itself, it will be available through the Soundtouch Ap..
agent: App.
me: As I've told you, I have been stuck with 19.0.5 for a few months. Grouping stopped working all of sudden. Since then I have been waiting for a proper update.
me: this really is not acceptable as a owner of 6 soundtouch devices.
agent: Then, if that would be the case then you can call us on the 9th so that we can update it if the update is still not available on the App.
me: What about 19.0.9? I read it was a temporary fix. Do you guys have that link?
agent: For the moment we don't have that link yet.
me: Not the link to 19.0.13 (the latest) but 19.0.9 (a much earlier temporary fix)
agent: Oh, I see. Regarding that temporary fix, you may need to contact the Soundtouch Specialist since they will be asking you an email address so that they can send you the link for that patch. they would also ask for the brand and model info for the router in use.
me: soundtouch account email : xxx@xxx
me: Wifi router: Aruba IAP-3xx
agent: You need to actually call our support line for this patch since there is a specific way for that update to be sent to you.
me: I guess they don't work over the weekends
agent: They are actually available on Saturdays.
me: so I missed the window already
me: just to confirm there is no way you can help me out?
agent: For the moment, I'm afraid not. Since my knowledge is limited when it comes with Soundtouch products. That's the other reason why I suggested to call our Support line since they are more knowledgeable regarding this.
me: ok
me: thanks anyway

10 REPLIES 10
nomadsole
Quiet Contributor
  • 0
  • 5
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 6, 2018

Re: It sucks!!

Well, if I remember correctly, the app always updates itself and the speakers, or at least the update pops up as the default option everytime you open the app. It is practically impossible to avoid them.

 

Naim was limited to 5 when grouping, which was my reason for Bose. But I will no longer recommend Bose to anyone due to their sh*** support.

Moderator

Re: It sucks!!

Hi nomadsole,

 

Thank you for posting on the community.

 

I do apologize for the experience that you have been having and dealing with. 

 

We do wait until the software has been completely deployed after all 3 phases to release it on the SoundTouch update page.

 

However, if you have not received the update today, you will on Thursday the 11th of October. 

 

Regards,

Joel - Community Support

nomadsole
Quiet Contributor
  • 0
  • 5
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 6, 2018

Re: It sucks!!

Joel, it is almost 12th. I have yet received any update through the soundtouch app. I also sent messages to Community_Admin and Jason_G 

nomadsole
Quiet Contributor
  • 0
  • 5
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 6, 2018

Re: It sucks!!

Received the update 19.0.13 this morning. Updated all speakers. The issue persists. Tried factory reset a few speakers. No good. Called Bose support, and was told "We are aware of this and working on a patch".

 

This is insane!!!! Why the hell not send out an email or simply allow the customer to revert back to an older firmware? Another half day wasted!!!

Community Manager

Re: It sucks!!

Hi nomadsole

 

I'm sorry to hear you're still having troubles with the grouping issues after the update.  We're going to reach out you via PM to gather a bit of information so we can escalate this issue to our development team.

 

Warm Regards,

Tony A

OvQ
Friendly Fanatic
  • 2
  • 51
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 13, 2014

Re: It sucks!!

It’s Oct 14 and i have not been prompted for an update. I am on 19.0.11.

Moderator

Re: It sucks!!

Hello QvQ,

 

Thanks for the post.

 

Which systems do you currently own?

 

Regards,

Joel 

OvQ
Friendly Fanatic
  • 2
  • 51
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 13, 2014

Re: It sucks!!

ST 300, 30, 2x20, 10 (All non Bluetooth)
Moderator

Re: It sucks!!

Hello QvQ,

 

Please check your DM for more information.

 

Regards,

Joel