Permanent Groups

Highlighted
Strident Supporter

Permanent Groups

I've been asking for permanent groups for literally years. It's a pretty obvious use case, and I managed to implement it myself using a raspberry-pi. It took me less than an hour, but it's not a perfect way of doing things. I noticed on this forum many others have asked the same thing.

I just bought 4 Amazon Alexas and found that despite them only releasing Spotify multi-room functionality a few weeks ago, their grouping is already permanent. They managed it on the first release...for the first time I am legitimately thinking of selling my few Bose systems now.

Also, still no Bose Alexa skill on the UK store. As a developer, I looked into how easy it is to port a US Alexa skill to the UK. The answer: extremely easy.

FFS Bose. I've owned my SoundTouch speakers for around 3 years now and I've continued to regret buying them for 3 years.

18 REPLIES

Re: Permanent Groups

Hi TimDonovan, 

Our apologies that we don't have permanent grouping. If we hear of any update regarding this, we will let the community know. 

Kind Regards

Brent - Bose Support

Friendly Fanatic

Is there any kind of FAQ that will tell me what happens when I group speakers?

For example, if I group speakers A, B & C, using A as the primary speaker, what happens when I change the preselect/source on A - does it change those things for the group as well? Or what happens when I turn speaker A off - does it stop the playback for all the other speakers?

I know I can work these things out myself simply by trial & error, but if there's an explanation of the permutations involved in managing groups, can you point me to it?

Friendly Fanatic

What do you mean by "permanent groups?" 

Hi Harmon,

Thank you for the great questions! I'd be happy to help:

• "if I group speakers A, B & C, using A as the primary speaker, what happens when I change the preselect/source on A"