Highlighted
Audible Advocate
  • 5
  • 14
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 10, 2016

Re: Play all issue with 16.x

Best to google it. WMM prioritizes audio and video network traffic on your wifi network, for optimal performance. So disabling it as the fix here is...interesting...

You have to login with admin rights to your router in order to disable it.

Depending on the age/spec of your router, it may/may not support WMM.

Good luck!
Highlighted
Animated Arbiter
  • 7
  • 32
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 10, 2017

Re: Play all issue with 16.x

I have forced updates on all speakers by holding down buttons 4 & Vol-

Now I only have issues with "play all"

Adding speakers individually seems to work for now

Better than nothing I suppose

Highlighted
Audible Advocate
  • 3
  • 4
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 19, 2017

Re: Play all issue with 16.x

Hi All,

 

I have had the same issue as most since the 16.x update with the Play All feature.

I am running a Bose Soundwave and 3x ST10.

Everything was working fine before the update. I have carried out all the troubleshooting tips offered in this forum and still the issue is there. I have changed from 5.0ghz to 2.4ghz on my router and nothing.

 

I spoke to Bose on the phone last weekend and they informed me that they were getting lot's of reports of this coming in not the "Small amount" that is being described in this forum, I feel that Bose are saying that rather than admint this is a much bigger issue.

 

Having spent over £1000 on a system and not being able to use it to it's full potential is very annoying. 

 

Bose surely this can't be that difficult to fix? Look how many people are having this problem, this should have been fixed within a matter of a week of people complaining, not almost a month after the update!!

 

When will this be fixed? We shouldnt have to carry out our own trobule shooting for an issue caused by your software!

 

Highlighted
Friendly Fanatic
  • 10
  • 27
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 24, 2017

Re: Play all issue with 16.x

Hi all,

 

I'd just like to chip in and say since the 16.x update a few weeks ago my 'Play All' feature just doesn't work reliably enough to warrant keeping my pair of  SoundTouch 10 speakers anymore.

 

As a last ditch attempt today I completely reset both speakers and added them to my 5GHz network (previously they were on my 2.4GHz network and didn't work).

 

Successfully added them to the network and am able to play each one individually but 'Play All' is sporadic; sometimes it works, sometime it doesn't, sometimes it appears not to work then splutters in for a minute or two before dropping out again. If there's one thing I can't stand it is buggy software... especially when listening to music.

 

I give up. Extremely unhappy with the stance from Bose that there are no issues with the software they pushed out. I was using this exact pair of speakers absolutely fine for over 9 months (since purchased new from Bose) but suddenly there's a forced software update that breaks the Play All feature and apparently it's all down to my network (which hasn't changed in years and the 8 other devices using it are all perfectly fine).

 

So right now I own a set of expensive speakers that do not do what is advertised (but is the fault of my network apparently). I definitely feel burnt and this will be the last purchase I make from Bose.

 

Mistakes happen, it's how you deal with them that matters. For Bose to still be peddaling the excuse of "it's your network" as the reason Play All has stopped working is unforgiveable in my opinion.

Highlighted
Audible Advocate
  • 5
  • 14
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 10, 2016

Re: Play all issue with 16.x

Be careful what you say on here folks. Don’t hurt anyone’s feelings. I had my wrist slapped for suggesting that there should be repercussions within the Bose teams for a long-standing mishap like this. Apparently that was rude, and my post was edited...

“11. Be polite. Everyone should feel comfortable reading Submissions and participating in discussions. Bose will not tolerate a statement that is taunting and thus arbitrarily inflammatory. However, this also includes those which are libelous, defamatory, indecent, harmful, harassing, intimidating, threatening, hateful, objectionable, discriminatory, abusive, vulgar, obscene, pornographic, sexually explicit, or offensive in a sexual, racial, cultural, or ethnic context.

Continued violations may result in disciplinary action including a temporary ban on the community boards.”
Highlighted
Friendly Fanatic
  • 10
  • 27
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 24, 2017

Re: Play all issue with 16.x

Yup, seems my post has been removed, so I will try again and keep my frustration curtailed...

 

Hi all,

 

I'd just like to chip in and say since the 16.x update a few weeks ago my 'Play All' feature just doesn't work reliably enough to warrant keeping my pair of  SoundTouch 10 speakers anymore.

 

As a last ditch attempt today I completely reset both speakers and added them to my 5GHz network (previously they were on my 2.4GHz network and didn't work).

 

Successfully added them to the network and am able to play each one individually but 'Play All' is sporadic; sometimes it works, sometime it doesn't, sometimes it appears not to work then splutters in for a minute or two before dropping out again. If there's one thing I can't stand it is buggy software... especially when listening to music.

 

I give up. I was using this exact pair of speakers absolutely fine for over 9 months (since purchased new from Bose) but suddenly there's a forced software update that breaks the Play All feature.

 

So right now I own a set of expensive speakers that do not do what is advertised.

 

Mistakes happen, it's how you deal with them that matters.

Highlighted
Friendly Fanatic
  • 18
  • 10
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 8, 2017

Re: Play all issue with 16.x

Hi!
Finally i resolved!!!... Here step by step
0 - All my sistems (2 soundtouch 20, 1 barsound and 1 soundtouch 10) was set on 5G hz (for default) then...
1 - Iphone set on 2.4 hz (change wifi)
2 - set only sountouch 10 on 2.4 hz (adding sountouch 10 again to the bose app, as if it had never existed)
3 - rest of sistems set on 5G
4 - play goups... works!

I hope help other guys

Highlighted
Friendly Fanatic
  • 10
  • 27
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 24, 2017

Re: Play all issue with 16.x

Still not working for me, I am seriously hacked off messing around with my perfectly functional network for all my other devices. If anyone can help, here's my settings:

 

  • Both speakers on the same 5GHz Network and both speakers reporting RSSI Signal Strength as "Great"
  • Both speakers running Software Version 16.0.9
  • App Version is 15.120.23
  • Interface version is 16.150.53
  • Protocol Version is 59

 

Yet still, if I try to 'Play All' from any speaker, the slave speaker doesn't play anything. Sometimes it kicks in for a few minutes then drops out. All the time the App is telling me it is playing to both speakers. I am literally at my wits end with these speakers, everything worked fine until the 16.X software release and now it simply refuses to work.

 

I previously had both speakers on my 2.4GHz network (when they ran fine), I've just switched them both to 5GHz in the hope it might resolve the issue. Before I did this I had one running on the 2.4GHz and one on the 5GHz - same result (cannot Play All, slave speaker refuses to play anything). This is the same for any internet radio station or any device connected via Bluetooth.

 

IMG_0187.PNGIMG_0190.PNGIMG_0189.PNG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My speakers are using reserved IP addresses and my DHCP lease time is set to 1 week.

Highlighted
Moderator - Retired
  • 0
  • 4188
  • 225
Registered since

May 16, 2016

Re: Play all issue with 16.x

Hi BoseJamie, 

 

I'm sorry that this is still ongoing. Thank you for providing so much detail on what you've tried. What is the make and model of your router? Who is your Internet service provider? I'd like to investigate if there are any known settings that should be adjusted based on your particular model. Have you tried disabling WMM in your router? The 2.4 and 5 GHz bands are named uniquely, correct? Have you tried toggling QoS to see if that helps. Have you tried re-loading the software on your systems by pushing 4 and volume - ? To clarify, this all started after updating to 16.x correct? 

 

Thank you 

Highlighted
Friendly Fanatic
  • 10
  • 27
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 24, 2017

Re: Play all issue with 16.x

Hi Brent,

 

My router is a Virgin SuperHub 2 (a rebranded Netgear router), I am in the UK and my ISP is Virgin Media.

 

The 2.4GHz & 5GHz networks are named differently (Koyaanisqatsi for the 2.4GHz and FiveGig for the 5GHz).

 

There is no option to enable or disable QoS on the Virgin SuperHub 2, in fact there is no QoS settings at all on this particular router.

 

I tried reloading the software using buttons 4 & - in order to disconnect them from the 2.4Ghz and connect them onto my 5GHz network.

 

I've tried everything that everyone has suggested and it still doesn't work. Is there any way to downgrade to v15 of the software? This issue only started after the speakers were updated to 16.0.9.