Highlighted
dasani
Quiet Contributor
  • 0
  • 8
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 3, 2017

SoundTouch 10 cannot be added to account

Hello,

This is a repeat post since I somehow did not provide feedback on the last post from Brian_M and have been using this only as a Bluetooth speaker- till I thought of picking it up again.

 

Last post https://community.bose.com/t5/SoundTouch-Archive/Unable-to-add-SoundTouch-10-to-account/m-p/95958#M4...

 

I did all sorts of advices like "Factory Reset" and "Alternate Setup". But each time, I ended up with:

ST10_Error.jpg

If I remember correctly, an update of latest firmware failed. Is there any way I can check what version is installed?

 

Thanks for helping out.

 

Edit: The WiFi LED is "Solid white (dim)"

 

11 REPLIES 11
Moderator

Re: SoundTouch 10 cannot be added to account

Hi dasani,

 

Thanks for the post, and I'm sorry to hear about the issues you're still having.

 

I would recommend following THESE instructions for Manually updating using a USB cable.

 

Let us know what happens!

 

Best,

Brandon - Community Support

dasani
Quiet Contributor
  • 0
  • 8
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 3, 2017

Re: SoundTouch 10 cannot be added to account

Thank you Brandon for getting back.

 

So, this is what I did:

1. Removed the USB cable

2. Started the SoundTouch app in my phone

3. In "searching for speakers" screen, I clicked on "add speaker"

4. Clicked on "WiFi"

5. Cannot see the "Bose.." WiFi network

6. Pressed "2 + Vol-" buttons to get WiFi LED solid amber

7. Select "Bose.." WiFi in my phone

8. Clicked Continue in phone

9. Enter my home WiFi password, clicked Connect

10. WiFi LED blinks white

11. After it is solid white, I let the old Speaker name and clicked Continue

12. "Naming Speaker" continues for long

13. The dreaded message appears (see my original post)

 

Thanks for your patience.

Moderator

Re: SoundTouch 10 cannot be added to account

Thanks for the information dasani.

 

Were you able to try the steps above to manually update the firmware on your SoundTouch system?

 

Best,

Brandon

dasani
Quiet Contributor
  • 0
  • 8
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 3, 2017

Re: SoundTouch 10 cannot be added to account

Hi Brandon,
Sorry if I was not clear.
Yes, I updated the firmware using the method described in your previous message. (Is there any way to know that it was not successful?) That’s when my step 1 started- removed the USB cable.

Please let me know if you need any more information.

Regards
Moderator

Re: SoundTouch 10 cannot be added to account

Hi again,

 

Thank you for the clarification.

 

If you look in that webpage where you install the update, it'll give you a software version at the top of the site.  

 

Have you attempted a reboot of your router?  Try and unplug the power for 30 seconds, then reconnect and try setup again.

 

What is the brand and model of your wireless router?

 

Best,

Brandon

dasani
Quiet Contributor
  • 0
  • 8
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 3, 2017

Re: SoundTouch 10 cannot be added to account

Hi Brandon,

 

1. I tried updating again- the progress got stuck once, so had to remove the USB and removed power cable for >30s

2. Connect again to redo. The final screen appeared like below:

Screen Shot 2018-09-22 at 1.28.52 AM.png

3. Was expecting the screen to show new updated version no- disappointed not to see.

4. WiFi was dim solid

5. Removed USB cable and tried to add speaker- failed- same old error message

6. Thought the update was not done correctly so did it again- but this time BT LED & Soundtouch LED was on

7. Knew nothing is going right- but retried to add after removing the USB cable

8. No progress- same error message

 

Not sure what else can be tried out.

Moderator

Re: SoundTouch 10 cannot be added to account

Thanks for the info dasani.

 

It looks like your system is up to date already.  

 

What is the brand and model of your wireless router?

 

Are you able to install the SoundTouch Application on a different device and attempt setup?

 

Best,

Brandon

dasani
Quiet Contributor
  • 0
  • 8
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 3, 2017

Re: SoundTouch 10 cannot be added to account

What is the brand and model of your wireless router?

=> It is custom delivered by my service provider ("Free"- yes, the name). There is no other brand/model visible. Not sure whether you can connect to your French counterparts and check whether Free has a problem in working with Bose.

 

Are you able to install the SoundTouch Application on a different device and attempt setup?

=> Tried with another device to install SoundTouch and tried this process, even with a different email id. Same result!

 

Do you think there is any light at the end of the tunnel? 😞

Community Manager

Re: SoundTouch 10 cannot be added to account

Hi Dasani

 

Thanks for the update!

 

It sounds like a setting in the router that is blocking the communication from the speaker to our music servers.  Typically this is caused by a firewall in the router.  Would it be possible to login to the router and disable the firewall temporarily to see if this is the case?  

 

Also, if you can upload a picture of the router where you see any information, we can look into the settings of this specific router for you.  

 

Warm Regards,

Tony A