mattius
Leader
  • 285
  • 316
  • 5
Registered since

Feb 15, 2017

Re: Soundtouch APP won't find speakers

Contact Us link is pointless, they do nothing.

 

I have in the past used that, phoned them, heck i even emailed the uk and us CEO's of Bose, none of which got a response.

 

The only times i have ever got any response is on this forum, they really are a completely innept company regarding customer communications and feedback.

 

This is not a new problem, it harks back since the launch of the Soundtouch product range, you will not be the first or last to continuously complain about this...

 

Unfortunatly im constantly having to work around the flaws in the Soundtouch app design, i totally agree we shouldn't have to, but Bose just do not seem to be able to fix it or prioritise it. I genuinely believe the actual hardware is decent and the software on it isn't too bad (its all off the shelf stuff software bundled together on a little linux board) but the bulk of the problems most users experience are through the flawed app.

 

I have offered numerous times to help Bose diagnose the problems (im a software enginneer specialising in low level communications between control systems) but it goes ignored, likewise i have pleaded with them to open up the API to allow us access to the "marge" streaming servers (so we can write a third party app), again it goes ignored, they have made improvements to the API but its still not enough to replace the Soundtouch app.

gbncrs
Participant
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Registered since

Feb 8, 2018

Re: Soundtouch APP won't find speakers

I had the same problen until I reset the speaker to factory settings and then tried to connect.  It connected right away.  Works well now.

Mskak
Collaborator
  • 14
  • 11
  • 0
Registered since

Feb 11, 2017

Re: Soundtouch APP won't find speakers

Hi gbncrs,

 

I wish I could share your "innocent optimism" (forgive me - don't mean to sound condescending) - I've been there many times - so have a lot of us. It works for a few days, and then suddenly it doesn't.

 

HOWEVER, I'm in a good period right now. It's been working for quite some time now without problems. Well done, Bose!! 🙂

 

I'm getting a completely new setup in my house with new router, firewall and access points soon. I'm looking forward to seeing whether that might have some influence on the stability of it all.

gvenditto
Contributor
  • 11
  • 45
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 20, 2017

Re: Soundtouch APP won't find speakers

I also have had success with the January update. But I was very vocal here for weeks before then -- I must have run through the setup 30 times between October and January. I think the settings were good for just 24 hours.

 

I did go thru the lengthy steps that appear to be designed to clear out any trace of the settings from previous setups. And also it appears necessary that the speakers and the wireless device (in my case, an iPad) are on the same WiFi band (2.4 GHz in my case).

 

They've been good for over 2 weeks now. I was even able to move one of the speakers to a different electrical outlet without a problem.

 

grrava
Contributor
  • 4
  • 9
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 25, 2017

Re: Soundtouch APP won't find speakers

So what is the status now?

 

I have installed the January update and can't connect to the bose soundtouch device anymore with my android device.

 

I am connected with my android device to the same wireless network as my soundtouch device. As is my Chromecast. The chromecast is working perfectly but the soundtouch can't be found.

 

Is there an update for the app that I'm missing?

zlee67
Participant
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 3, 2018

Re: Soundtouch APP won't find speakers

Any updates? My soundtouch app can not find the speakers even after the update. Quite annoying when you buy a top of the line surround system and can not even connect to its own app. I've been using alexa to stream music via Bluetooth.
Julianbr
Participant
  • 0
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Jul 27, 2017

Re: Soundtouch APP won't find speakers

When, oh when, will this system be fixed? I,ve persevered for 3 or 4 year’s, it feels like it’s  getting worse, I’ve not been able to reliably switch on my system and connect to all 3 speakers at the same time for months, is it really such a big problem, other systems seem to work OK.

Andrew Mac
Participant
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 4, 2018

Re: Soundtouch APP won't find speakers

I have exactly the same issue - after the update my main sound system cannot be found on the app - although it is on the net because it is playing internet radio. The protable system is working fine. Please give me a working solution because I am unable to stream my music - very frustrating!

Bass24
Participant
  • 0
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 30, 2017

Re: Soundtouch APP won't find speakers

Agreed, extremely frustrating Bose has not found a solution.  I've given up.  Luckily 90% of the time we use it for TV, which we are happy with.  I was planning on adding additional speakers outside and in a couple of rooms, but no way I'm buying another bose product any time soon.  They either can't fix it, or they don't care about those of us that want to use it for streaming music.  Either way, I'd gladly return this for a much less expensive system that may not sound as great, but is keeping up with technology.  

 

I'm not usually one to vent, and I don't think Bose is listening anyway, but it makes me feel a little better for being an idiot and just trusting Bose would be the perfect home theater and sound system without doing the proper research.  If anyone who is thnking about buying the bose soundtouch system is reading this, Bose isn't going to fix it anytime soon.  Go with something else.    

Julianbr
Participant
  • 0
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Jul 27, 2017

Re: Soundtouch APP won't find speakers

Hi, well I’m not the venting type either but there are limits. I bought my Bose on sound quality alone, thinking back the ability to link rooms using SoundTouch was a nice to have and Spotify finds my speakers individually every time, it’s just the SoundTouch software that’s hopeless in my situation!