Alex F
Contributor
  • 2
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 2, 2020

Re: Bose Soundtouch App can't find my speakers

turned off and reinstalled and it’s still not working. 

Jessie_O
Moderator

Re: Bose Soundtouch App can't find my speakers

Thanks for confirming this!

 

At this point, I think it would be beneficial to access your router settings and double-check that your settings are in line with what we recommend:

 

UPnP: Enable
Multicast: Enable
IGMP: Enable
Wireless Isolation: Disable
IGMP Proxy: Disable
IGMP Snooping: Disable
Wi-Fi Radio or Radio Mode: Mixed or B/G/N
Stealth mode: Disable
MAC Filtering/Access Control: Disable, or add the Bose system MAC address to the allowed devices list
WPS: Disable
WAN IP Blocking: Disable
Recommended router settings for Bose product performance

 

Wireless channel: Fixed (select a specific channel); Auto-Channel selection is not recommended

 

Standard Wi-Fi uses 11 channels. Selecting the best channel might require trial and error. Choose channel 1 or 11 and observe the system to see if performance improves. If it does not, try the other channels until performance does improve
 
Security type: WPA-2(PSK) with AES Encryption

 

Some routers offer a mixed security mode of WPA (TKIP)/WPA-2 (AES) for compatibility with older products. Choose WPA-2 only if no networked devices depend on WPA or mixed mode. If unsure whether or not other networked devices will be affected, note the current security setting, switch to WPA-2 and try all other networked devices. If necessary, return to the previous security setting
 
WMM: Disable

 

This setting is intended to optimize streaming services but typically gives priority to voice or video streaming, which can negatively impact audio streaming or reserve bandwidth for voice or video devices even if they are off. Although disabling WMM is recommended, on some routers, enabling WMM improves performance. If WMM is disabled on the router and issues are experienced with your Bose product, enable WMM and check for improvement

 

Dual-Band (2.4 GHz and 5 GHz) SSID: Name both differently.

 

With routers that broadcast more than one network, give the networks distinct names. If your networks have the same name, products on the networks might not know the difference with the identical names. This can cause them to intermittently disconnect and reconnect to both bands. 

 

Let me know how you get on!

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
Come check out my profile here. New to the community? Check out the Getting Started board.
Help others find answers to your questions by clicking on 'Accept as Solution' at the bottom of a reply.
If you see a post you like, make sure to give it a thumbs up!
Alex F
Contributor
  • 2
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 2, 2020

Re: Bose Soundtouch App can't find my speakers

I’m sorry but I was relying on bose to do

my home sound system, I haven’t changed anything on my configurations and due to a poor update on your app ( I suppose) you are asking me to to check all my configuration? You should be aware that you are selling a product to general consumers which are not supposed to be IT specialists to use your products. I have lots of Bose products ( speakers, headphones etc...) and I’m already regretting to not choose another company to rely on. 

Juan112233
Participant
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 20, 2020

Re: Bose Soundtouch App can't find my speakers

Same thing happens to me all the time since I bought it 3 years ago. Unreliable all the time. Worst system ever. I have changed internet companies, bought boosters, and same problem always. Shameful that whenever you have a visit you have to spend 30 minutes on your own just trying to connect the system to the internet. 

rickatk
Expert
  • 360
  • 1899
  • 61
Registered since

Nov 12, 2015

Re: Bose Soundtouch App can't find my speakers

Try logging out of the SoundTouch account, log back in, all your speakers should appear.

 

 

 

 

When replying to a topic, make sure your reply is relevant and keeps the conversation productive. Please be respectful of other community member's opinions. If you are experiencing the issue reported in a thread, the more details you can include the easier it will be for others to try and help.

simdog
Participant
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 31, 2017

Re: Bose Soundtouch App can't find my speakers

Yep it is the worst streaming SW i have ever come across.  The speaker audio quality is the best on the market though

bigsleep2005
Participant
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 6, 2018

Soundtouch App is not finding the speakers

I have been loyal to Bose for what seems like forever and there's a reason. They sound great and they are RELIABLE. I have always been willing to pay a bit extra for the ease of knowing that the systems i put in place work but the app and these soundtouch speakers are becoming exhaustive. 

 

THE APP DOES NOT WORK!!! Everytime i load it up it it does not find the 3 speakers i have around my house, then, after opening the app and closing it several times it will sometimes find the speakers. Great, then i start playing something and decide i want to change something and it has lost the speakers AGAIN?!!!

 

This is completely unacceptable from a company like Bose. Our relationship has always been so simple: I give you money and you give me a service worth paying for?!!!!

 

I have restarted the router and that made it work fine, for an hour and then it was back to square one. Sort your app out so that it discovers the speakers when you open it up NO IFS OR BUTS it simply finds them, allows them to be controlled and then turned off. 

 

Do hope this can be done or i'll be moving onto a different brand, something I never ever thought i'd say. 

 

Chris

 

 

rickatk
Expert
  • 360
  • 1899
  • 61
Registered since

Nov 12, 2015

Re: Soundtouch App is not finding the speakers

@bigsleep2005  What did you change that resulted in the speaker disconnecting.?

Is one of your speakers near your wireless router?

Try logging out then back in to your SoundTouch account.

 

There is something causing your problems. There is nothing wrong with the app. In my experience the app works fine. Good luck with the troubleshooting.