Codym10
Serene Sponsor
Registered since

Feb 12, 2019

Re: Google home connectivity to Soundtouch

Screen Shot 2019-03-03 at 10.18.55 AM.pngVirtual Switch (Connected with Speaker Control)Screen Shot 2019-03-03 at 10.20.59 AM.pngVirtual Switch DetailsScreen Shot 2019-03-03 at 10.23.27 AM.pngSmart App - Speaker Companion

SmartThings Details ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

joe_ward
Silent Starter
Registered since

Apr 25, 2019

I’m not sure if this is covered in previous posts, but like others I have been frustrated with the lack of Google home integration with my Soundtouch devices.

After a lot of tinkering I have now managed to use a combination of OpenHAB (openhab.org) running on a Raspberry Pi and custom commands set up through IFTTT with my Google Home. With a bit of googling you’ll find everything you need, I’m not a coder (although I’m reasonably tech savvy) and I managed it after a couple of evenings.

You can control the player (play, pause, skip etc) and selecting one of the 6 presets to play on a specific Soundtouch (I have four set up) which was what I set out to achieve. I don’t think you’ll be able to have as much control as you do over a chromecast say (eg “play Foo Fighters in lounge”) but it is useable.

I’m happy to try and answer any questions but there was a lot of trial and error involved!
Boseymcbose
Quiet Contributor
Registered since

May 12, 2019

It's getting a bit ridiculous. People shouldn't have to be hacking their sound touches to get Google home support. Bose is really letting us down on this one.

As someone who is developing a smart home, Bose is really making it hard for me to keep my soundtouch under the tv.
Alantabs
Animated Arbiter
Registered since

May 5, 2018

Yes. What's the point in having good gear if you are not going to support it?

I've given up on my sound touch! Sold them off cheap on ebay and moved to sonos.

Matt_D.Papa
Audible Advocate
Registered since

May 28, 2019

I'm sadly considering the same switch....