cccopado
Audible Advocate
  • 0
  • 20
  • 0
Registered since

Jul 25, 2016

Issues Grouping SoundTouch Speakers

I am having issues while trying to group my ST speakers. I have a SoundTouch 30, an SA-5 and two SoundTouch 10's. If I am listening on one and try to add another speaker, the first one cuts off. Any suggestions on how to fix?

13 REPLIES 13
Highlighted
Moderator

Re: Issues Grouping SoundTouch Speakers

Hi Cccopado, 

 

Thank you for taking the time to post and welcome to the Bose Community! 

 

I'm sorry to hear that you are having issues with the Multi-room part of your speakers. I'll be happy to assist you.

 

Can you tell me if they function as expected on their own? 

 

Can you tell me if you notice any difference when having different 'Main' Speakers?

 

I would recommend resetting your router by unplugging it, waiting for 30 seconds and plugging it back in. 

 

I look forward to hearing from you! 

 

Kindest, 

 

Jessie O - Community Support

 

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
New to the community? Check out our Community Guidelines and How to use the Bose Community for helpful hints on getting started.
Highlighted
cccopado
Audible Advocate
  • 0
  • 20
  • 0
Registered since

Jul 25, 2016

Re: Issues Grouping SoundTouch Speakers

Yes, they seem to function as expected on their own. I've tried switching the "main" speaker but that didn't work either. When I add one, the other will turn off. 

Highlighted
Moderator

Re: Issues Grouping SoundTouch Speakers

Hello cccopado,

 

Did you try the router reset as recommended by @Jessie_O?

 

When you say that the other will turn off, does it actually lose power or does the sound just drop?

 

Could you please also ensure that your devices are running the latest available firmware versions.

Manually updating your SoundTouch 10 system

Manually updating your SoundTouch SA-5 system

Manually updating your SoundTouch 30 system

 

Please let me know the outcome of these steps.

 

Warm regards,

Charlotte G 

 

 

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
New to the community? Check out our Community Guidelines and How to use the Bose Community for helpful hints on getting started.
Highlighted
rickatk
Noisy Narrator
  • 235
  • 1146
  • 22
Registered since

Nov 12, 2015

Re: Issues Grouping SoundTouch Speakers

Ensure all your speakers are visible in the SoundTouch app. Log out of the account then log back in.

 

That should get you going.

Highlighted
cccopado
Audible Advocate
  • 0
  • 20
  • 0
Registered since

Jul 25, 2016

Re: Issues Grouping SoundTouch Speakers

This solution worked for awhile but now is happening again. :(. 

I cannot play my ST speakers individually. When I turn the 2nd one on, the 1st one stops playing. I have tried re-setting my router and logging out of the ST app.

Highlighted
Moderator

Re: Issues Grouping SoundTouch Speakers

Hi Cccopado, 

 

Thank you for your post and welcome back!

 

I'm sorry to hear that your issue has returned. Are you able to ungroup the speakers in the application and play them individually? 

 

Have you tried the troubleshooting in the thread above to see if this resolves the issue again? 

 

I look forward to hearing from you! 

 

Kindest,

 

Jessie O 

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
New to the community? Check out our Community Guidelines and How to use the Bose Community for helpful hints on getting started.
Highlighted
cccopado
Audible Advocate
  • 0
  • 20
  • 0
Registered since

Jul 25, 2016

Re: Issues Grouping SoundTouch Speakers

Yes. I have tried the troubleshooting steps suggested. 

Yes. I am able to play the speakers individually and while grouped.

The issue is when I try to play 2 speakers independently, the 1st speaker stops playing when I add the 2nd.

Highlighted
Moderator

Re: Issues Grouping SoundTouch Speakers

Hi Cccopado, 

 

Thank you for coming back to me and confirming, 

 

Are you trying to add the 2nd speaker in a group or to play something different? 

 

If it's something different, can you tell me which source you are trying to play on each speaker? 

 

I look forward to hearing from you! 

 

Kindest, 

 

Jessie O 

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
New to the community? Check out our Community Guidelines and How to use the Bose Community for helpful hints on getting started.
Highlighted
Plasmanut
Strident Supporter
  • 72
  • 69
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 16, 2019

Re: Issues Grouping SoundTouch Speakers

Let’s get serious. 

Each and everyone of these solutions are temporary and no more than a proverbial Band-Aid. 

There are literally dozens and dozens of threads talking about the same problem. 

What Bose won’t tell you is that this MIGHT fix your problem for an hour or two. My speakers 7 x SoundTouch 10s don’t work on wifi. Simple as that. The product is not performing as advertised. Period. 

One would think that given the prevalence and frequency of these issues, Bose would address it with firmware updates. Instead, they prefer to continue doing the basic 101 troubleshooting we all get insulted about when asking for help: reboot, restart, reinstall, etc. And they hope people give up. 

My gear is collecting dust in my house. No matter how often I have done this, the problem keeps coming back. Unacceptable. Inexcusable. 

I own towns of wifi connected device from Sony to Apple to Microsoft and so on. None of them are requiring any of this extra care and feed and they all perform exactly the way they should. 

Bose should have never been allowed to market this stuff as a true multi room audio system because if doesn’t function as such.