Notice

The Bose Community Forum was launched at a time when robust online support was not available for Bose customers. Over the past several years we have added new online service channels that provide a more interactive and complete digital experience. Additionally, we have enhanced the My Bose Account capabilities to deliver a more personalized and self-service experience. As a result, Bose has made the decision to close Community Forum for Consumer electronics products on September 30th. The Bose Pro portion of the Community will still operate as usual.


Please visit our support homepage to experience one of our many other digital service channels or simply use your Community log-in credentials to sign in to your My Bose Account to view your orders and view support options.


Thank you to all who have contributed and benefited from interacting in our Community. We look forward to continuing to serve you online.


Regards,
Bose Customer Service Team
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
nsdin
Participant
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 19, 2015

'Not Playable' error message from CD player on WAVE Soundtouch system

The CD player was playing fine earlier but after we relocated to a different city, it now gives the error message 'Not Playable' . You might ask, did you update ? Yes, from the appropriate update link on https://www.boseindia.com/en_in/support/article/updating-wave-soundtouch.html website , then subsequently,  restarting the system. The CDs, incidentally, are the same. I'd like to solve this. Does anyone know how? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Sam_F
Moderator

Re: 'Not Playable' error message from CD player on WAVE Soundtouch system

Author Accepted Answer selected by nsdin

Thank you for providing that information @nsdin.

 

You've mentioned attempting a reset on the system - did you disconnect the unit from power for two minutes? Have you tried connecting to a different power socket/outlet?

 

Also, if you were able to successfully attempt an update and that did not help the cause, there may be an underlying issue with your system. If after attempting the reset once more, you find no improvement, I'd strongly recommend reaching out to your local support team for India HERE.

 

Please let me know how you get on!

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
Come check out my profile here. New to the community? Check out the Getting Started board.
Help others find answers to your questions by clicking on 'Accept as Solution' at the bottom of a reply.
If you see a post you like, make sure to give it a thumbs up!

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
Vicky_W
Moderator

Re: 'Not Playable' error message from CD player on WAVE Soundtouch system

Hello Nsdin, 

 

Welcome to the forums. 

 

I am sorry but the link you provided is not working. Please can I confirm which specific Wave system you have? This will enable me to assist you further. 

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
Come check out my profile here. New to the community? Check out the Getting Started board.
Help others find answers to your questions by clicking on 'Accept as Solution' at the bottom of a reply.
If you see a post you like, make sure to give it a thumbs up!
nsdin
Participant
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 19, 2015

Re: 'Not Playable' error message from CD player on WAVE Soundtouch system

Thanks for replying. The product ID is [SN hidden by Moderator]. It is Wave Soundtouch Music System, S description in the sales invoice. I hope that helps to home in on the solution. I update this unit with update.stu as provided at this website. 

Sam_F
Moderator

Re: 'Not Playable' error message from CD player on WAVE Soundtouch system

Author Accepted Answer selected by nsdin

Thank you for providing that information @nsdin.

 

You've mentioned attempting a reset on the system - did you disconnect the unit from power for two minutes? Have you tried connecting to a different power socket/outlet?

 

Also, if you were able to successfully attempt an update and that did not help the cause, there may be an underlying issue with your system. If after attempting the reset once more, you find no improvement, I'd strongly recommend reaching out to your local support team for India HERE.

 

Please let me know how you get on!

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
Come check out my profile here. New to the community? Check out the Getting Started board.
Help others find answers to your questions by clicking on 'Accept as Solution' at the bottom of a reply.
If you see a post you like, make sure to give it a thumbs up!

View solution in original post

nsdin
Participant
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 19, 2015

Re: 'Not Playable' error message from CD player on WAVE Soundtouch system

Thanks, Sam. As you suggested, I reset and disconnected from the power outlet for 2 minutes this time. The CD player works now. Much thanks 🙂  

 

Cheers.   Enjoy your weekend. 

Nicolebear
Participant
  • 0
  • 6
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 16, 2020

Re: 'Not Playable' error message from CD player on WAVE Soundtouch system

My Bose Wave CD system won't read my CDs. They claim it is "not playable." I tried other CDs, moving the Bose Wave around, and unplugging it. Anybody have a solution? I bought this from my Aunt Nancy.

Jeff_G
Moderator

Re: 'Not Playable' error message from CD player on WAVE Soundtouch system

Hi Nicole, 

 

Thanks for posting. 

 

Sorry to hear you're having issues playing CDs on your Wave system. What CDs are you trying to play? self-burned discs or CDs you have purchased?

 

Have you also checked to ensure the discs are free of scratches? 

 

Thanks.

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
Come check out my profile here. New to the community? Check out the Getting Started board.
Help others find answers to your questions by clicking on 'Accept as Solution' at the bottom of a reply.
If you see a post you like, make sure to give it a thumbs up!
Nicolebear
Participant
  • 0
  • 6
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 16, 2020

Re: 'Not Playable' error message from CD player on WAVE Soundtouch system

No, they are not burned CDs. 

Nicolebear
Participant
  • 0
  • 6
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 16, 2020

Re: 'Not Playable' error message from CD player on WAVE Soundtouch system

They are CDs I have purchased.

Nicolebear
Participant
  • 0
  • 6
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 16, 2020

Re: 'Not Playable' error message from CD player on WAVE Soundtouch system

I am trying to play CDs I have purchased. Most of my CDs are NOT scratched. I know how to take care of my CDs by handling them by their hole and/or edges.