Highlighted
Strident Supporter
  • 44
  • 52
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 13, 2017

Re: Soundtouch 300 continuously rebooting

Deepanker - well done!

Sorted my end too.  Wasted so much time on this, I had a support ticket raised too.  I do love these speakers but BOSE are good at hardware not software where they fail too often

Highlighted
Friendly Fanatic
  • 15
  • 29
  • 1
Registered since

Feb 14, 2017

Re: Soundtouch 300 continuously rebooting

Absolutely, atleast with Soundtouch series they messed up their software and I guess that was the reason to start afresh with smart home series. Ofcourse they would not admit that but sometime it is good to do so. I have few startups and I know irrespective of all your good intentions, it is likely you would read few trends better only on hindsight. 

Highlighted
Audible Advocate
  • 4
  • 10
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 23, 2015

Re: Soundtouch 300 continuously rebooting

I was pointed in the direction of your solution post, and am now half way through subscribing 14 units to my new ST account and everything is working so far !

 

Thank you 

Highlighted
Wistful Whiz
  • 180
  • 238
  • 22
Registered since

Jan 9, 2016

Re: Soundtouch 300 continuously rebooting

@deepanker100 Thanks, went through your procedure, and so far its worked like a charm.  Ended about 5 days of frustration for me.  Thank you again!

Lead Community Manager

Re: Soundtouch 300 continuously rebooting

Author Accepted Answer selected by Wayne_M

Hey everyone,


Thanks to everyone who has posted so far within this thread. We’re actively monitoring the issues that have been raised. At this point it would help if we could collect system logs from your SoundTouch speakers and the SoundTouch application to investigate and escalate for anyone still experiencing the issue. If you are willing to share this with us, please post in the thread and we will reach out to you privately.


Also, thank you to @deepanker100 who has posted their current work around as we’ve heard from many that it has helped. Essentially, if you reset your speakers, delete you’re your current account and create a new one, you should be able to add the speakers back.


We know that this is not an idea solution for customers experiencing these difficulties and we are working on a solution.

 

Thank you for your patience!

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
New to the community? Check out our Community Guidelines and How to use the Bose Community for helpful hints on getting started.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Strident Supporter
  • 44
  • 52
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 13, 2017

Re: Soundtouch 300 continuously rebooting

Absolutely no need to reset speakers - unless you did that on the old account.  New account will pick up the speaker names.  As some of my speakers WERE still connected to the network - I could go into SPEAKER SETTINGS then ADD SPEAKER - but choose ETHERNET.  This should not work with ST10's but as they were already on the network it was just a case of adding them to the new account.

I have sent logs - but as we have explained - it looks like some of our accounts are linking to something faulty at your back end 

Highlighted
Friendly Fanatic
  • 3
  • 5
  • 0
Registered since

Feb 26, 2020

Re: Soundtouch 300 continuously rebooting

Same here @SBH!: I just created a new account and logged in. Setup all STs 10/20/30 without reset and the process took about 5 minutes. Plus another 10 minutes to setup all my service preferences. OK as a work-around, but a bit scary in terms of software and data service quality...

Highlighted
Audible Advocate
  • 6
  • 5
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 22, 2020

Re: Soundtouch 300 continuously rebooting

Solved! I logged out of the old account in the app and just added the speakers (2 x ST10 and 2 x ST300 and Wireless Adapter). Select discover from an "existing network" and not from wifi or ethernet. The speakers are immediately discovered and no need to put the speakers in this painful hit & miss discovery mode. After the first speaker is added, you just create a new account and continue adding the other speakers. After adding the speakers to the new account, all worked as before. The only thing I had to redo was setup my 6 favorites.

 
  •  
Highlighted
Friendly Fanatic
  • 18
  • 10
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 8, 2017

Re: Soundtouch 300 continuously rebooting

Hi
I did and it is worked for only 1 day..... again i can not use any ST sistem (ST 10, ST 20 and Soundbar 300) Can you provide an other solution? (I can not be creating each day a new acount...)

Best!

Highlighted
Friendly Fanatic
  • 3
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 28, 2020

Soundtouch 300 continuously rebooting

I have been a loyal Bose fan for over 30 years, but the Soundtouch system is really testing my loyalty and nerves.  If you are reading this as research for purchasing a system, I would NOT recommend purchasing!  I have invested heavily in the system and it continues to be a problem.  I own one Series 30, one Series 20 and 3 Series 10 speakers.  The system updates too frequently and never resolves problems and often times creates new ones.  

 

Currently, the 30 and 20 will not stay “on”.  They play for a minute or two and then lock up or turn off.  

Additionally, if it plays beyond a few minutes and I try to connect the other speakers, the whole system locks up and stops playing.  I have to think that the problem is firmware/software related across the 30 and 20 series, because both started having problems at the same time.

 

Not in every case, but frequently, I see the update bar turning on just after the system stops playing and then locks up showing to “select a preset”.  In this mode, I have to unplug as the system has become completely locked.

 

In set up mode (Pressing 2 and “-“), the system errors out in the naming phase and never completes and then locks up the devise.  I have to unplug and restart.

 

The speakers will show availability and then when trying to connect, are unable to be found.

 

I just tried updating manually through the USB connection. (Download file, move to flash drive, unplug Speaker, insert flash drive, press and hold 4 and the “-“, plug speaker back in.) The screen prompts looked like it worked and when tried to play it again, it stopped after less than two minutes.

 

Additionally, in frustration, I tried to stream Spotify through the AUX input and the system stopped playing altogether.  

 

UGH!   I really don’t know what to do!  

 

ONE WEEK later and still no reply from BOSE!  I did go to a Spotify forum post yesterday and they recommended deleting and reinstalling the BOSE app.  I deleted the app and reinstalled and that did allow me to connect all devices and stream Spotify, but it only worked one time.  I repeated the deletion of the app and reinstalled and was able to reconnect, but to having to delete and reinstall the app seems to be a hack vs. a fix...  FRUSTRATED by the lack of response by anyone from BOSE and the fact that I am still having issues!