QC35 II - Android 8 upate problems

Highlighted
ok
Audible Advocate

Re: QC35 II - Android 8 upate problems

Hi all, I'm an engineer at Google with the assistant on headphones team.  We're aware of the loss of assistant functionality on the Bose QC35 II when paired with a non-Google Android phone on Android 8.0.0 due to an OS bug.  We're planning on pushing a workaround in the next version of the Google app.  We'll update this thread as soon as a beta version of the app is available with the workaround.

We're really sorry that you are experiencing this loss of functionality, thank you for patience with us.

Friendly Fanatic

Hi Shiloh_C

thank you for you follow up Smiley Very Happy

What phone are you using? Oneplus 3T

What Android software version?  8.0

Has this issue only begun after the Android update? Yes, it was fine up to 7.x

Are you using the Connect App? yed

What version of the Connect App, if so? 5.0.3

Have you tried pairing the headphones with more than one device? yes, a linux PC

Bose QC23 II Firmware version 2.1.3

Friendly Fanatic

I'm glad to see that this issue is at least in Google's visibility, I hope it's fixed before it tarnishes the relationship with Bose and other manufacturers. Reason I am here is to let you know that this is not affecting just non-Google phones. I have a Pixel and a Pixel 2 and I have had this issue. As I did before, I have temporarily fixed it but the problem returns. I cleared the nickname using the Bose app for iOS.  

ok
Audible Advocate

The latest beta version of the Google app is rolling out on the Play Store with the workaround.  The updated version is 7.17.17.  To sign-up for the beta, please refer to the following instructions:

https://support.google.com/websearch/answer/6307673?hl=en